National Sports Award 2019 list

President  Ram Nath Kovind presented the National Sports Award (Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award, and Dhyanchand Award ) 2019 on the National Sports Day 2019 (114th birth anniversary of Major Dhyan Chand ) to sportspersons from the country at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on 29th August.

The Selection Committee for the Sport Award 2019 was headed by Justice Mukundakam Sharma.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the highest sporting honor in the country.

National Sports Day 2019

India celebrates its National sports day on August 29 on the 114th birth anniversary of legendary hockey player Dhyan Chand Singh to Remember and to Honor him. It observed to spread awareness on the importance of sports and daily activities in everyone’s life.

In this National Sports Day 2019, Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the ‘Fit India Movement’  at Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium in New Delhi. The aim of the program is to encourage all the citizens of the nation to include physical activity and sports in their everyday life.

National Sports Award 2019 PDF Download

National Sports Award are

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 
  • Arjuna Award 
  • Dronacharya Award 
  • Dhyanchand Award

Read more details about the National Sports Award.

A total of 32 athletes were awarded in National Sports Award 2019 in a different category. These are

  1. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna winner:2 persons
  2. Arjuna Award winner:19 persons
  3. Dronacharya Award winner:6 persons
  4. Dhyanchand Award: 5 persons

National Sports Award 2019 winners list

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2019:

  • Bajrang Punia (Wrestling)
  • Deepa Malik (Para-Athletics)

Arjuna Award 2019

  • Ajay Thakur (Kabaddi)
  • Anjum Moudgil (Shooting)
  • Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth (Badminton)
  • Pramod Bhagat (Para sports-badminton)
  • Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Hockey)
  • Fouaad Mirza (Equestrian)
  • Gaurav Singh Gill (Motorsports)
  • Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Football)
  • Harmeet Rajul Desai (Table tennis)
  • Pooja Dhanda (Wrestling)
  • Poonam Yadav (Cricket)
  • Ravindra Jadeja (Cricket)
  • S Bhaskaran (Bodybuilding)
  • Simran Singh Shergill (Polo)
  • Sonia Lather (Boxing)
  • Mohammed Anas Yahiya (Athletics)
  • Sundar Singh Gurjar (Para sports-athletics)
  • Swapna Burman (Athletics)
  • Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (Athletics)


Dronacharya Award (Regular Category)

  • Mohinder Singh Dhillon (Athletics),
  • Sandeep Gupta (Table Tennis)
  • Vimal Kumar (Badminton).

Dronacharya Award (lifetime category):

  • Mezban Patel (Hockey).
  • Rambir Singh Khokar (Kabaddi)
  • Sanjay Bhardwaj (Cricket)

Dhyan Chand Award 2019

  • Arup Basak (Table Tennis)
  • C Lalremsanga (Archery)
  • Manoj Kumar (Wrestling)
  • Manuel Fredricks (Hockey).
  • Nitten Kirrtane (Tennis)

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2019:

The main objective of the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is to promote and encourage the involvement of corporates, voluntary organizations, sports control boards in the promotion and development of sports, and NGOs working on sport for development in the country.

The award is given in four categories

  1. Identifying and Nurturing of Budding/Young Talent- Gagan Narang Sports Promotion Foundation.
  2. Encouragement of sports through Corporate Social Responsibility,
  3. Employment of Sports Persons and Sports Welfare Measures,
  4. Sport For Development- Rayalaseema Development Trust


Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy, 2019:

  • Punjab University, Chandigarh


Who won the Dronacharya award 2019?

Ans– 6 Athletics won Dronacharya award 2019 in different Categories.

They are

  • Mohinder Singh Dhillon (Athletics),
  • Sandeep Gupta (Table Tennis)
  • Vimal Kumar (Badminton).
  • Sanjay Bhardwaj (Cricket)
  • Rambir Singh Khokar (Kabaddi)
  • Mezban Patel (Hockey).

Which award is given in sports?

Ans-Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award, and Dhyanchand Award are given in sports.

Which is the highest award in sports?

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the highest award in sports.

Who got the Arjun Award in cricket?

Poonam Yadav (Cricket) and Ravindra Jadeja (Cricket) were won Arjun Award in cricket.

Which is the highest award given to a sports coach in India?

Dronacharya Award is the highest award given to a sports coach in India.

You can read also:

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

I am Arati Nayak. I like to share knowledge for students and Aspirants to make everything easy, clear, and unique.

Leave a Comment

Copy link