Bharat Ratna Award: List of Winners from(1954- 2021)

Dear Aspirants, in this article we provide all the list of Bharat Ratna Award from 1954-2021 till now, and also complete details of the Bharat Ratna Award.

  • Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the country (India) that was instituted in the year 1954.
  • It awarded in exceptional public service or performance of the highest order in any field of human activities like the field of art, literature, and science.
  • Any person in any occupation, position, or sex is eligible for this award.
  • Maximum 3 people awarded at once in one year.
  • The  Prime Minister of India himself made the recommendations for Bharat Ratna to the President of India.
  • The Bharat Ratna Award first awarded to politician C. Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and scientist C. V. Raman, 3 persons in 1954.
  • Till now there are 48 person individuals, including 16 who were awarded posthumously this Award.
  • The youngest  Bharat Ratna recipient was cricketer Sachin Tendulkar at age 40 years, who received this award in 2014.

About Bharat Ratna Award:

  • In a particular year maximum of three awards are given.
  • On conferment of the award, the recipient receives a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medal.
  • The Award does not carry any monetary grant.
  • In terms of Article 18 (1) of the Constitution, the award cannot be used as a prefix or suffix to the recipient’s name.

Bharat Ratna Medal:

  • The medal/seal is in the form of a peepal leaf, about 5.8 cm long, 4.7 cm wide and 3.1 mm thick.
  • It was made of bronze. On its middle embossed the sun of 1 .6 cm in diameter, below this the words Bharat Ratna are written in Devanagari script.
  • On the reverse of the medal state emblem is present and the motto written in the Devanagari script.
  • The emblem, the sun, and the rim are platinum.
  • The inscriptions are in burnished bronze.

Bharat Ratna Award Winners List :


YearName of PersonPlaceField
2019Pranab MukherjeeWest BengalIndian politician
2019Bhupen Hazarika



AssamIndian playback singer, lyricist, musician, poet and filmmaker



MaharashtraSocial  activist
2015Madan Mohan Malaviya (Posthumous)Uttar PradeshScholar and educational reformer and founder of Banaras Hindu University.
2015Atal Bihari VajpayeeMadhya PradeshExprime Minister and one of the best parliamentarians for over four decades.
2014Sachin TendulkarMaharashtraCricketer
2014C. N. R. RaoKarnatakaScientist
2009Bhimsen JoshiKarnatakaHindustani classical singer
2001Bismillah KhanBiharHindustani classical shehnai player
2001Lata MangeshkarMaharashtraPlayback singer
1999Gopinath Bordoloi(Posthumous)AssamIndependence  activist
1999Amartya SenWest BengalEconomist
1999Ravi ShankarWest BengalSitar player from Calcutta
1998Jayaprakash NarayanBihar  Posthumous, independence activist and politician
1998Chidambaram SubramaniamTamil NaduIndependence activist, Minister of Agriculture
1998M. S. SubbulakshmiTamil NaduCarnatic classical singer
1997Aruna Asaf AliWest BengalPosthumous, independence  activist
1997Gulzarilal NandaPunjabIndependence activist, interim Prime Minister
1997A. P. J. Abdul KalamTamil NaduAeronautical Engineer, 11th President of India
1992Satyajit RayWest BengalBengali Filmmaker
1992J. R. D. TataMaharashtraIndustrialist and philanthropist
1992Abul Kalam Azad(Posthumous)West BengalIndependence  activist, first Minister of Education
1991Morarji DesaiGujaratIndependence activist
1991Vallabhbhai Patel (Posthumous)Gujaratindependence activist, first Home Minister.
1991Rajiv Gandhi (Posthumous)Uttar PradeshSixth Prime Minister.
1990Nelson MandelaSouth AfricaSecond non-citizen and non-Indian recipient.
1990B. R. Ambedkar (Posthumous)Madhya PradeshThe chief architect of the Indian Constitution, Social Reformer, politician, economist, and scholar
1988M. G. RamachandranTamil NaduPosthumous, film actor, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
1987Khan Abdul Ghaffar KhanPakistanFirst noncitizen, independence activist
1983Vinoba Bhave (Posthumous)MaharastraSocial reformer, independence activist
 1980Mother TeresaWest Bengal



Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity in Kolkata
1976K. Kamaraj (Posthumous)Tamil NaduIndependence  activist
1975V. V. Giri (1975)OdishaTrade unionist
1971Indira GandhiUttar PradeshThe First Woman Prime Minister of India
1966Lal Bahadur ShastriUttar PradeshPosthumous, independence activist, second Prime Minister
1963Pandurang Vaman KaneMaharashtraIndologist and Sanskrit scholar 
1963Zakir HussainAndhra  PradeshIndependence activist, Scholar, third President
1962Rajendra PrasadBiharIndependence activist, lawyer& first President
1961Bidhan Chandra RoyWest BengalA physician, political leader
1961Purushottam Das TandonUttar PradeshIndependence activist, educator
1958Dhondo Keshav KarveMaharashtraSocial reformer
1957Govind Ballabh PantUttar PradeshIndependence activist
1955Bhagwan DasUttar PradeshIndependence activist, philosopher
1955Mokshagundam VisvesvarayaKarnatakaCivil engineer and Diwan of Mysore (1912–18)
1955Jawaharlal NehruUttar PradeshIndependence activist, author & 1st Prime Minister.
1954C.RajagopalachariTamil NaduIndependence  activist
1954Dr.Sarvepalli RadhakrishnanAndhra PradeshPhilosopher,


India”s 1st Vice President (1952-62), and India”s 2nd President(1962-67)

1954C. V. RamanTamil NaduPhysicist

You can read also:

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India that was instituted in the year 1954.Maximum 3 people awarded at once in one year.

Frequently Asked Questions:

Who got the first Bharat Ratna award?

Politician  C. Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and scientist C. V. Raman got the first Bharat Ratna Award in 1954.

What is Bharat Ratna prize money?

There was no prize money given in the Bharat Ratna award

Who was the first woman to receive Bharat Ratna?

Indira Gandhi was the first woman to receive the Bharat Ratna award in 1971. She was also the first woman Prime Minister of India from 1966 to 1977.

Who was the youngest person to receive Bharat Ratna?

Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar’s the youngest person to receive Bharat Ratna at age 40 years in 2014.

Which famous singer is awarded Bharat Ratna in 2019?

Bhupen Hazarika was a famous singer is awarded Bharat Ratna in 2019.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

I am Arati Nayak. I like to share knowledge for students and Aspirants to make everything easy, clear, and unique.

Leave a Comment

Copy link