Dada Saheb Phalke Award  

Dear Aspirants, Award and Honour is the most important part of current affairs for every competitive examination. About  3 to 4 questions came from this portion so students must read Award and Honour for examination.

In this article, we provide a complete list of Dada Saheb Phalke Award from 1969 to 2019 which are useful for all competitive examinations like Railway NTPC, Group-D, SSC, Banking, UPSC, OPSC, OSSSC, and State PSU.

What is Dada Saheb Phalke Award? 

India’s highest award in cinema is the” Dada Saheb Phalke Award” which is given annually by the Government of India for lifetime contribution to Indian Cinema.

It is awarded by the Directorate of film festivals, an organization set up by the Ministry of Information and broadcasting of India.

You can read also: Jeevan Raksha Padak Award 2020 winner list

It was instituted in 1969, the birth centenary year of Dada Saheb Phalke, considered as the Father of Indian Cinema.

Phalke Award comprises a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) and a cash prize of Rs. 10,00,000.

Actress  Devika Rani is the first recipient of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the 1969 year, who was honored at the 17th National Film Awards.

The most recent recipient of the award is actor Amitabh Bachchan who will be honored at the 66th National Film Awards for the year 2018 in the ceremony in 2019.

Recipients of Dada Saheb Phalke Award till 2019

Ceremonial  Year RecipientsCategoryFilm industry
1969(17th)Devika Rani Actress Hindi
1970(18th)Birendra Nath Sircar Producer Bengali
1971 (19th)Prithviraj KapoorActor  (posthumous) Hindi
1972(20th)Pankaj Mullick Composer  (music director) Bengali & Hindi
1973(21st) Ruby Myers (Sulochana) Actress   Hindi
1974(22nd) Bomireddi Narasimha Reddy Director Telugu
1975(23rd)Dhirendranath Ganguly Actor,DirectorBengali
1976(24th)Kanan Devi Actress  Bengali
1977 (25th)Nitin Bose Cinematographer, Director, WriterBengali, Hindi
1978 (26th)Rai Chand Boral Composer, DirectorBengali, Hindi
1979 (27th)Sohrab Modi actor, director, producerHindi
1980(28th)Paidi Jairaj Actor, DirectorHindi, Telugu
1981(29th)Naushad Ali Composer  (music director)Hindi
1982(30th)L. V. Prasad Actor, Director, ProducerHindi, Tamil, Telugu
1983(31st)Durga Khote Actress   Hindi, Marathi
1984(32nd)Satyajit Ray Director  Bengali
1985(33rd )V. Shantaram Actor, Director, Producer  Hindi, Marathi
1986(34th )B. Nagi Reddy Producer  Telugu
1987(35th )Raj Kapoor Actor, DirectorHindi
1988(36th )Ashok Kumar Actor  Hindi
1989(37th )Lata Mangeshkar Singer  Hindi, Marathi
1990 (38th)Akkineni Nageswara Rao Actor  Telugu
1991(39th)Bhalji Pendharkar Director, Producer, WriterMarathi
1992(40th)Bhupen Hazarika Composer (music director) Assamese
1993 (41st)Majrooh Sultanpuri Lyricist Hindi
1994(42nd)Dilip Kumar Actor   Hindi
1995(43rd)Dr. Rajkumar Actor Kannada
1996(44th)Sivaji GanesanActor   Tamil
1997(45th)Kavi Pradeep Lyricist Hindi
1998(46th)B.R. Chopra Director , producer    Hindi
1999 (47th)Hrishikesh Mukherjee DirectorHindi
2000(48th )Asha Bhosle Singer  Hindi, Marathi
2001(49th )Yash Chopra Director , producer   Hindi
2002 (50th )Dev Anand Actor, Director, ProducerHindi
2003(51st )Mrinal Sen Director  Bengali
2004(52nd )Adoor Gopalakrishnan Director  Malayalam
2005(53rd )Shyam Benegal Director  Hindi
2006 (54th )Tapan SinhaDirectorBengali, Hindi
2007(55th )Manna Dey DirectorBengali, Hindi
2008 (56th )V. K. MurthyCinematographerHindi
2009 (57th )D. Rama NaiduDirector, ProducerTelugu
2010 (58th )K. BalachanderDirectorTamil, Telugu
2011 (59th )Soumitra ChatterjeeActorBengali
2012 (60th )Pran Krishna SikandActorHindi
2013 (61st )Gulzar DirectorHindi
2014 (62nd )Shashi Kapoor ActorHindi
2015 (63rd )Manoj Kumar ActorHindi
2016 (64th )Kasinathuni Viswanath DirectorTelugu
2017 (65th )Vinod Khanna ActorHindi
2018 (66th )Amitabh BachchanActorHindi


[su_box title=”you can read also” box_color=”#dd4b15″]



How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Comment

Copy link